Neurotypical is overrated

About three weeks ago, my PNP and I decided to add Abilify to my medication regimen of 400 mg a day of Lamictal. I’d not had a true hypomanic episode for several months. However, I’d been in what I consider to be a mid-level depression since the end of September or beginning of October, which is usually the time of year the depression aspect of my bipolar cycle begins. This past fall, it was compounded by pre & post election shenanigans.

It took me a very long time to figure out the depression triggers are related to a series of unrelated events, which took place across different years and different ages. However, they all flow into each other on my unconscious depression trigger timeline. I won’t go into it here and now, since this isn’t what I want to address.

It seems the daily, tiny, 2mg dose Abilify has triggered a cyclothymic hypomania. After a five month depression, it feels a little good to be productive, have energy, and be able to string more than two thoughts together. I have an appointment with my PNP prescriber today.

Anyway, I’ve spent the past couple of days working on the launch of a new blog: Neurotypical is Overrated. I’m going to officially launch it with The Ultimate Blog Challenge & the 30 Day Writing Challenge, which both start on April 1st. My goal is to have the first week in the pipeline and ready to go by then. I’m hoping to have more ready to go before then, but that is what I think I’ll need to do in order to stay caught up. If I’ve done things correctly, I might even have the scaffolding in place to carry it out past that time.

Of course, that could be the hypomania at work, since I also have some pretty intense life stuff going on at the same time.

I’ve started working with a local, interfaith movement on human rights & social justice Sanctuary organization. I started out with a small cohort from my home faith community. However, the other cohort folks were overcommitted and had to withdraw. So, I’ve joined the host cohort, which is actually closer to where I live. So, I also get to build relationships and community where I live, while also getting involved and trained on issues that have meaning and enable me to do more than be an online FB, blogtivist.

It’s important to me to do something tangible, where I can show up in person, in the current political climate of events which are so threatening to the ideals, values, and survival of people like myself and those around me who are different from me. Resistance doesn’t have to be futile.

That’s also the goal of the new blog. This one has become such a mish mash of different things and more of a personal journal. I want the new blog to be more structured, organized, and purposeful when it comes to fighting the stigma surrounding mental health, disability, and poverty issues, especially the intersection of all of those things. My plan is to offer information, inspiration, solidarity, practical application, and a little fun.

I would say that I’ll be here less, but, I’m already barely and inconsistently posting here, lol.

If you’re interested in fighting stigma and supporting these efforts, you can help by checking out the blog, liking and sharing it if you think it’s worthwhile to do so. I’m also soliciting topic ideas, and guest writers. The guest writers can be anyone with personal or professional experience in dealing with those issues. If you’d like to contribute, leave a comment below.

Thanks for reading and thank you for your support and encouragement.

Your feedback, thoughts, and input are appreciated.

