I’m Back: July 2015 Ultimate Blog Challenge 

It’s been awhile since I’ve written on a consistent basis or with an internal sense of cohesion and cognition. It’s been about a year and a half since I’ve written more than five posts and two years since I’ve written and posted consistently. Although, there are quite a few partially written drafts.

Life’s been challenging and I’ve been working through a lot of things . . . mostly regarding relationships. As a result of this process, I’m realizing that everything in our lives is about relationships, how we interact with others in the world around us, and how those interactions are informed by the relationship we have with ourselves. Whether it’s online, in our homes, on the job, in our cars, or on public transit, our interactions with others – even if they aren’t aware of those interactions – come from how we feel, what we think, what we believe, what we expect, and how we view the world in relation to ourselves.

This means that every interaction is also about all of those things from the other person’s or people’s side of the world, real or virtual. 

With so many horrific, dramatic, and critical things going on in the world around us, which are also all about relationships, I think exploring various aspects and settings for relationships is something worth looking at.

Don’t you?

I had grand plans a couple of weeks ago, when I first decided to do this challenge and write on this subject. I was going to write out a schedule and plan an outline. I was going to write as many posts as possible ahead of time, so that I could consistently publish at the same time and so that there would be an organized progression in the content.

Yeah. That didn’t happen. Here’s the way it’s going to to work, instead.

I’m going to do my best to write and publish daily. I’m going to do my best to support my fellow UBCers during this challenge. I’m going to conform and adhere to the rules and process of the challenge, as much as possible. I’m going to make every effort to do these things. 

However, I won’t be sacrificing my relationships in order to do so. I won’t stress myself out, criticize myself, or otherwise beat myself up if it turns out that I bit off more than I can chew. At least that’s one of my goals.

My ultimate goal is to get a real conversation going about what it means to be in the different kinds of relationships we find ourselves in and what it takes to grow and change in relationships.

I will share some of my personal experiences and what I’ve learned or am learning about them. I’ll write about topics relating to social media and relationships. I hope to have a guest or two join the conversation. I will include my thoughts and responses to a book I’ve been invited to help moderate a study on at my home faith community in the Fall.

  

Mostly, I’ll wing it and see where this journey takes us. Please join me by commenting. Invite others to join us by sharing. Let’s explore this world of relationships together.

4 comments

Your feedback, thoughts, and input are appreciated.

