Dreaming of Peace

Peace is such a rare thing, at least it is in my life. From my observation, it is also quite uncommon in the world at large. Conflicts erupt over the least likely things.

Currently, in my home, multiple conflicts seem to erupt daily. Space is limited and finances are even more so. Some big changes have been happening and even bigger ones are pending.

In the midst of it all, I’m on my internal roller coaster, traveling at whiplash speed through hypomania, depression, and all points in between, while trying to operate the controls from the front of the ride.

There are so many wounded, hurting, anxious people living and reacting in fear and anger, at odds within themselves and the world around them.

In the midst of dodging life’s speeding bullets, running to keep up with the time we believe is running out, and scrambling to avoid the pitfalls and crumbling constructs around us, it can be difficult to remember peace starts within and we either choose it, by first imagining and dreaming of its possibility or we never even realize it is anything other than an improbable, impossible ideal.

In those moments, quotes and lyrics can interrupt the dissonance and evoke a harmonic sense that peace is real and possible, if we dare to dream it and open our hearts and minds to imagine what true peace could look and feel like.

Kozo, from everydaygurus, had this to say about September’s Peace Challenge:

I love reading an in-depth post on peace, but sometimes I need a quick fix. At these times I love seeing an inspirational quotation posted in an artistic manner. For this month’s Peace Challenge, I challenge you to post a quotation that will bring peace to the world.

I decided to combine this with Creative Buzz prompt #15: Dream.

20130908-101139.jpg

Dreaming of Peace
Imagining a
Dream of peace inside of me
My home and the world

“Imagine all the people
Living life in peace…
You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one”

(c) 2013 KDdL: Image and poem inspired by “Imagine” by John Lennon

20130909-200652.jpg

Creative Buzz Hop hosted by Michelle, of Muses from the Deep, and Tamara Woods, of PenPaperPad.
This was prompt #15: Dream

    Related articles:

Quotes for a peaceful mind, Spunky Wayfarer

Women’s Work, My Little Spacebook

These dreams won’t let me down, Considerings

18 comments

  1. love this post! peace starts by imagining its presence is already felt…if we shift our perception of what is our lives begin to shift to what could be.
    peace & blessings

    Like

  2. Heart rending, Kina…….I thank you for sharing a part of you with the Creative Buzz Hop like this with us. It’s not a dream, though, but will happen, though we have to work very, very, hard at it.

    Like

    1. Michelle,
      Thank you for co-hosting the Creative Buzz Hop. I don’t think I know how to write without baring part of myself.

      Peace seems like it should be easy, but, you’re right, it is hard work.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

    1. Cheryl,
      Thank you so much for stopping in. Releasing anger is definitely a key to peace and a very prevalent personal struggle of mine and others with whom I’m in daily relationship with. It’s a process.

      Namaste,
      Kina

      Like

Your feedback, thoughts, and input are appreciated.

