Diving In: Facing fears, being reckless, or caving into “peer pressure”

Keith and I took Luna to the community pool next door during Family Swim time yesterday. About an hour after we got there, it turned into Open Play Swim, when kids can swim without having an adult supervising them as long as they meet a height requirement.

During Family Swim, there were five lanes reserved for lap swimmers while families had use of the shallow bay and one swim lane, which runs under the diving board. Three of the lap lanes go away during Open swim and the diving board is lowered for use.

Once he realized the diving board was available, Keith got a huge grin and decided he was going to dive. He is long and lanky, so even if his form isn’t perfect, he still dives well and looks pretty good doing it. He goes straight to the end, bounces a couple of times then takes off, gaining some good height, arcing beautifully, and going in at a perfect angle for a smooth entry.

As Luna and I watched him go off the board, she clapped really excitedly, cheering him on, and giggling her happy laughter. Then she says, “I want you to dive, mommy!” Repeatedly.

I’m seven inches shorter and outweigh him by 100 lbs, give or take. I used to be really self-conscious when we go out in public together. I feel like we are the real-life representation of Jack Spratt and his wife. You know? The nursery rhyme, “Jack Spratt could eat no fat. His wife could eat no lean.” So, it’s still a pretty big deal for me to put on my three year old, sagging, faded, WalMart swimsuit, with the shoulder straps tied in knots to keep the thing on and wearing the two sizes too small, exercise shorts to keep my bottom section modestly contained, and get into the pool with him and Luna.

But, I’ve learned to do it because it’s more important for Luna to experience us enjoying time as a family than me not participating because I’m ashamed of my physical being and the fact I can’t afford a decent swimsuit. The truth is, I am continually battling the inner voices from the childhood taunts from Summertime at the local community pool when I was 8 – 10 years old:
Fatty, fatty, two by four
Can’t fit through the bathroom door!

Whale on the beach! Whale on the beach!

Always followed by the hysterical, maniacal laughter of the boys leading the chorus of whooping and hollering.

Add to that, all the tabloids and internet memes and videos of overweight women being mocked and ridiculed for daring to wear “revealing” clothing that shows their cellulite and rolls of fat in public, means the fact that I’m ashamed and embarrassed to be in a public pool with my family shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone, really. I choose to go anyway and just try to hide how I’m really feeling.

Now, here is my little girl, who hasn’t learned that mommy is too fat to be seen in public with, much less to get up on a diving board, wanting to watch mommy dive the way she’d just seen daddy do.

I had a lot to think about and not much time to do it.

1) I was already in a pain flare from both the fibromyalgia and the lower back/sciatic pain that is getting worse again. What if I do it wrong and hurt myself?

2) It’s been well over two decades since I dove off a board. So long, in fact, that I don’t actually ever remember diving from an actual diving board, ever. What if I do it wrong and make a huge splash?

3) How will I look to others? Will I see smirks and looks of embarrassed pain on the faces of the teens and other adults in the pool?

“Please mommy, I want you to dive like daddy!”

I watched Keith jump into the air, arc, then angle, slicing into the water like it was air.

“Ok. Tell daddy you want mommy to dive when he gets to us.”

She did. He smilingly agreed.

I reluctantly climbed out of the pool and made my way to the board. Three short steps and the short blue plank suddenly narrowed by six inches and grew two feet longer. The closer I got to the end, the more wobbly and unstable the surface under me felt. Then I was at the edge.

Fear of hurting myself fought against the fear of how I would feel about myself if I didn’t do this.

I sort of bounced up and pushed forward, feet barely leaving the board before I aimed arms and head into the water.

Coming up, I knew I hadn’t done my back and body any favors. “Never again. That hurt my back,” I declared as I swam over to Keith and Luna.

I did wind up experiencing more pain throughout my entire body and worse back and sciatic pain for the rest of the day and night. However, while it made things more difficult, it didn’t stop me from doing a little grocery shopping, fixing a spaghetti dinner, or cleaning up after.

In this case my “peer pressure” was the pressure of going outside my comfort zone and doing something I was afraid of doing in order to please my daughter and not be the family “downer.” Knowing my physical health issues and my lack of insurance and still choosing to dive was probably a reckless decision. Somehow, though, I can’t help but believe that I made the right choice.

Luna may not know that she saw mommy being brave and courageous. She may not realize that I was acting as a “feminist” and choosing to go against what society pressures women who look like me to do. It may never enter her awareness that I lacked self-confidence or felt self-conscious and ashamed.

But I know. I also know that by doing those things in front of Luna, I created a new normal for us both.

20130716-115253.jpg

13 comments

  1. I don’t know you but I’m proud of you. When I was young my mother wouldn’t go to the beach with us. She was too ashamed of her body and made it known to me that she was. That not only hindered the time that could have been spent with her but it also instilled in me my own insecurities about my body. If my beautiful mother, who I didn’t see as overweight didn’t like her body, then I shouldn’t like mine either.

    When I had children I gained weight quickly but even being double the size the doctors state I should have been, I was determined to never let it stop me from enjoying time with my children. I go to the beach, water parks and places like that and I try not to think about my size, even though I’ve had gastric bypass and I’m much smaller. I’m still not as small as I should be. But I never let it stop me.

    You may have not done well by your body but by overcoming the mental fear that almost stopped you from enjoying this day, you may have taken a step close to feeling better physically. I believe that there is a correlation between how we feel about ourselves and how we feel.

    Best wishes to you. I’ll follow along with your blog. Thank you for sharing such an intimate thing with all of us.

    Missy Bell
    http://www.PeaceAndHappinessProject.com

    Like

    1. Missy,
      Thank you for sharing your story and experience. Doing this kind of thing is still kind of new. I’ve lived in a self-made isolation chamber of shame, insecurity, and self-loathing for such a long time. About a lot of different things. The fatness is more symptom than cause, but has always been correlated.

      All of that did negatively impact what I did or didn’t do with mt two oldest, now adult children. I watched my 20 year old daughter go through rougher times, making both more destructive and more courageous choices, many of which included body conscious factors, than I did.

      I want and need to do different AND better for Luna, as well as for myself, and even for my oldest daughter moving forward.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

      1. You’ve got this. You are headed in the right direction. Staying aware of what you are thinking as often as possible and realizing that you have the ability to change what you think and believe is the key. You can always private message if you want. I’m on Facebook at Words That Touch Your Heart.

        Be good to yourself.

        Missy

        Like

  2. Way to go! I know many women whose internal views of themselves hold them back from doing fun stuff with their kids. I know my mom did. And, I have caught myself doing the same – mostly because my mom did. I often catch myself thinking that I need to be like her simply because I am a mom too. LOVE that you’re giving your daughter an example she can follow and feel good about. 🙂

    Like

    1. Lori Anne,
      Thank you. I have spent too many years holding myself back and stigmatizing myself, to my own detriment and that of my older children. I’m working hard to do different with Luna.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

  3. Kina, your post is so authentic and beautifully written. You know when being reckless will benefit you and your family. I hope your back is feeling better by now, too.

    Like

  4. Thank you for sharing this. I can really, truly, honestly relate.
    **I am in a very similar “Jack Spratt” situation.
    **I have a little girl and would do anything in my power to help her avoid the body issues I’ve always had.
    **I have a chronic back injury from a car accident several years ago & have to carefully evaluate being adventurous.
    **I ignore being responsible about my back when my little girl needs a demonstration of brave super-mommy.

    So, really, really thank you for sharing. And good on you for showing your little girl you can dive “like Daddy”.

    Duck Mommy @ http://www.FosterDucklings.com

    Like

  5. Kina – How courageous & what an example to be for your daughter. It seems like one of those visuals that will be etched upon Luna’s memory – a fun day at the pool where daddy AND mommy did dives & made her day. You’ve made me want to find a Wonder Woman bathing suit to erase the memory of ridicule when I received one for my 9?? birthday. I would wear it proudly today!! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  6. Hi Kina, That was a fabulous post. I am overweight and each time I wriggle into that darn swimsuit to take my two littles swimming I hope no one is offended by how I look – but instead have the ability to think ‘Good for her! Look what she is doing for her children’. I hope you aren’t in terrible pain from the endeavor – each time we show the world we aren’t afraid of their harsh judgement, is a step in the right direction for our children.
    All the best,
    Rhondda
    Visiting from the UBC

    Like

  7. Beautiful post Kina!
    The best gift we can give our children is the gift of self love and appreciation. The way children learn to see the world and themselves is conditioned through our teachings and the way we see ourselves. What a wonderful teacher you are and a true blessing to your daughter Luna.
    Sending you Blessings and Love!!!
    http://www.GenaLivings.com – Healthy Living

    Like

    1. JJM,
      Thank you.

      I don’t know if you saw my post in Depression last week. But, as I was doing my research, I found something that may be relevant to your situation. I included the info in that post. I wasn’t sure how to communicate that to you, so I am glad you stopped by.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

Your feedback, thoughts, and input are appreciated.

