DIY Health Remedy: Olive Oil

My elbow hurts. It has been like this for a while now. Sometimes the other one does too. I thought it was dry skin. But then someone suggested it might be psoriasis. However, without being able to consult a doctor and not actually being able to see my own elbow, I was still uncertain. I just knew that I was tired of the niggling pain and raw feeling of the skin every time I put weight on it or cloth brushed up against it.

It finally occurred to me to use the reverse camera on my phone and take a couple of pictures. After looking at those, a Google Images search confirmed it. Not pretty.

I had resorted to using antibiotic ointment with pain reliever and large adhesive bandages. Then I ran out of bandages, which weren’t working all that great anyway. The adhesive was either not strong enough and the ointment would seep and weaken it or the stronger bandages would leave strands of fiber and sticky residue that served to further irritate my skin. So, I would go a week or so without using anything on it. Shortly after showering, the painful sensation would begin and I would feel a dry, rough, scratchy patch that felt like the scrubber side of a kitchen sponge for cleaning pots and pans.

This particular morning I was in the middle of a fibroflare, which made the pain and irritation of it all much worse. Suddenly I thought, “Olive Oil!” I went into the kitchen and grabbed the bottle of EVOO out of the cupboard and poured some right into my left hand and began rubbing it into my right elbow. Of course I got too much and my phone started ringing, so I spread it around and smoothed it into the skin on both arms and hands.

The images below are all pictures of my elbow taken while it was straight and then bent. The top images are what it looked like after about 30 minutes after taking my shower. The middle set of images were taken approximately an hour after applying the olive oil. The bottom images were about two hours after applying the olive oil.

No alterations, edits, or enhancements have been made other than to combine the images into a picture collage using Mixel.

20130203-112017.jpg

While the skin remained a bit rough and sensitive, I definitely felt a difference. Each morning for the next three days I took pics and saw how there was an overall reduction in the irritation, then I continued to apply some of the olive oil throughout the day.

20130209-212123.jpg

It seemed that there was a definite progression in the healing and appearance of the skin. The difference from the first day in the very first picture of the initial set compared to the last picture in the most recent set looks significant to me.  When I was about halfway through the process, I realized that the bottle of oil I had been using wasn’t EVOO, it was Extra Light Olive Oil. So, perhaps the results would have been more lasting and significant had I used the EVOO. I also discovered that one of the recommended ways of using Olive Oil to treat psoriasis includes warming the oil and using plastic wrap to cover the affected area and keep the oil in place for longer, allowing maximum moisture to be retained. I’ll try that next time.

I knew that olive oil was healthier for cooking and that it has been helpful in using it to condition scalp and hair, but this was the first time I thought to use it on my elbow. I think I’ll be investing in a Costco sized vat of it when the tax refunds arrive.

6 comments

    1. Mary,
      Thanks for that tip. I think I’ll be okay as long as I remember to use the olive oil consistently for more than a few days.

      I got too much on my hands after applying to my elbows and smoothed it over my dry & tight lips and the rough patchy skin on the sides of my nose – instant relief. Definitely need to invest in an industrial sized bottle, lol.

      Be well,
      Kina

      Like

    1. Pam,
      It does help, but you have to do it daily. I didn’t follow through and the skin cracked & bled. 😦

      I got the plastic wrap, so I’m going to try applying warm oil immediately after my shower and wrapping it in the plastic wrap.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

Your feedback, thoughts, and input are appreciated.

