If all the snowflakes . . .

A common misconception people may have about where I live is that we get snow. That may be true in the outlying suburbs and the other regions around The Beaver State. However, where we live, near the heart and center of fair Portlandia, where young people go to retire, snow is a rare and fleeting thing.

On Monday, I actually ventured out of the apartment, which isn’t quite as rare as the snow, but close. You see, after Marco’s wedding, dealing with Keith’s feeling’s about his relationship with Marco, and all the mental/emotional work I did to cope with all of that and to prepare for my forthcoming magazine article on Self-Love, I’ve been in a major fibro-flare and trying not to succumb to the depression. Hygiene, housekeeping, sleep and socialization tend to fall by the wayside.

Anyhoo, if Luna and I were going to eat anything other than handfuls of shredded, frosted, mini-wheats once we finally left the warmth and comfort of the bedroom, I was going to have to spend more than an hour cleaning the kitchen. I decided that we should get out of the apartment and head over to the nearest place to eat with decent food, in good portions, at reasonably priced amounts, the local medical center.

It’s a short walk, but Luna was very happy to walk and get out some energy. She decided she wanted to hold my hands while walking backwards in front of me. It worked for a few steps before I felt off balance and was afraid of tripping and falling on top of her. Still it was great to see how happy and playful she was. It was nice to break away from my doldrums for a brief moment and experience being happy in the present moment, laughing and smiling myself.

As we approached the building it seemed to be visibly sprinkling, but I didn’t see rain spots appear on the ground. We opened the door for an employee whose hands were full with her lunch. She acted surprised, but very grateful. I made sure to tell Luna that it’s polite and courteous to open the door and hold it for others, especially if they have their hands full. Who knows if that lesson went anywhere into the brain of a four year old, but the important thing is to make the effort to offer the lesson.

It was lunchtime and there were quite a number of people hanging out, waiting for their grill orders, serving themselves at the restaurant worthy salad bar & Asian food bar, or helping themselves to pizza and the hot & ready deli case.

While we waited for our grill order of a bacon cheeseburger & fries for me and chicken strips & fries for Luna, she decided to dance and twirl around the clear space between stations. I was afraid that people might get frustrated or annoyed by her antics, since it was busy & crowded. So, I told her I knew she was happy and wanted to dance and twirl, but that I wanted her to be careful and stay safe around so many people. It was gratifying to see the indulgent looks and favorable smiles of the others also waiting for their food.

Once we sat down and began eating, I looked up and saw big white flakes coming down outside. I tried to capture it with my phone’s camera, it was so pretty to see the slow, steady drifting of the fluffy, bright, white puffs floating outside the clear, plate glass windows. Sadly, as good as this camera is, it isn’t designed to capture such an image.

20130115-164120.jpg

You can’t see the flakes without magnification. 😦

Once Luna was finished eating, we walked outside and discovered the only white on the walkways was the rock salt laid down to prevent slips and falls on the concrete.

The rest if the way home we did our best to play in the snow and I remembered a song I learned while watching Barney when LaLa was little, If all the raindrops, and started singing it for Luna.

20130115-181701.jpg

I’m happy we had those moments together and incredibly grateful for the tools and technology to capture this little memory.

20130115-182028.jpg

14 comments

  1. This is such a transparent post. I love it and I thank you for sharing a little bit of your life and day with us. I felt as though I was there with you 🙂 I enjoy reading script that puts me in a place in time. Beautiful pics too!

    Like

    1. Tracy,
      I love to look at snow, from inside a nice, warm building where I don’t risk slipping, falling, and injuring my clumsy self. Also, the frigid cold is not good for either the fibromyalgia or the depression.

      That being said, I am making a concerted effort to try to experience the world through Luna’s eyes and attempt to encourage her to retain her joy and wonder and things we strip the magic from as we grow older. At least an intermittent effort anyway.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

  2. Sounds like one magical day of twirling, dancing, yummy food and snow! Isn’t it lovely how something so simple can turn into an adventure?! Here’s to many more lovely dreamy days captured on “film”!! 🙂 thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Eyenie,
      Thanks for that.

      Historically, for me, being able to sense the adventure, experience the magic, and wonder of these kind of moments is something that gets buried under the chronic depression and fibromyalgia. I’m kind of on a mission to pay attention and notice when these moments happen and reflect on them.

      The whole thing was probably less than an hour in the midst of a whole lot of other overwhelm and negativity, which is what I almost wrote about and processed. There’s a partially written draft that I may never finish. I’m glad this is what got written instead.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Such friendly and positive feedback is encouraging and uplifting.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

    1. Cham,
      So happy to offer a feel good moment! They seem to be too rare for me. I should look for more of them and share them. Maybe I’ll start a Wonderful Wednesday theme for my blog to break up the heavy.

      Thanks for stopping by and giving me something to think about. I really appreciate your comment.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

  3. Funny we should both blog about snow. And it is great to have the technology – I wish it had been available when my kids were young and I may have had more reminders of fun times. Lovely post and great pics, TFS

    Like

    1. Janice,
      I too wish the technology had been available when I was parenting my oldest children. I have a 26 year old son and a 19 year old daughter as well. Having lost memories of their childhood, as well as my own, I’m determined to do something different for my youngest, and for me now.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

    1. Amy,
      I enjoy looking at pictures of it and I think the thing about snow is that it changes everything and shifts it into a new dimension of bright, sparkly, fun in a season that is otherwise dark, cold, and dreary.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting. It’s always fun to meet new folks.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

  4. During this last winter, we had snow here in Johannesburg, South Africa. It was so incredibly unusual that I did the same as you, madly trying to capture the flakes on my cellphone camera. Didn’t work! Oh well, I’ll have the memories in my mind.
    Thank you so much for sharing the info regarding Jangles. I am so appreciative that I cannot even begin to think of the right way to say thank you.

    Like

    1. You are quite welcome. My sphere if influence isn’t large, but it is semi-widespread. At least one other blogger I’m connected with is somewhere in SA as well and she saw the post. Hopefully her sphere is larger and closer to home for you.

      I’m just glad I was able to capture and record this memory. I have memory issues and may soon forget this happy moment with my youngest as I’ve lost so many memories over my lifetime. This was a precious moment I hope to share with her in the future.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

Your feedback, thoughts, and input are appreciated.

