Meditation: Renewing My Mind

I know I said my focus this month was going to be on the first step and doing the work on it. It’s what’s linear and logical and fits my human, process oriented self. However, since I already have a Higher Power, according to my understanding, I also know that prayer and meditation need to be part of my continual and ongoing process, despite the fact it is the 11th Step:

Sought through prayer and meditation to improve our conscious contact with God as we understood God, praying only for knowledge of God’s will for us and the power to carry that out

It is a component I have consistently left out of my life as I tend to focus on the choppy waves of the stormy seas of my life, both internal and external. So, I will be including this part of my process here, since blogging seems to be the most consistently constructive part of my recovery journey.

20130101-130854.jpg

“…I am fully attentive of you. I see you with a steady eye, because My attention span is infinite. I know and understand you completely. My thoughts embrace you in everlasting Love…” ~ Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace In His Presence, January 1

If I believe this to be true, then I can stop trying to understand myself through the damaged lenses of others around me and the broken reflection I see in my minds eye. I don’t need to seek attention or strive to be known, since, through no effort of my own, I am already known and understood.

Jeremiah 29:11 I say this because I know what I am planning for you,” says the Lord. “I have good plans for you, not plans to hurt you. I will give you hope and a good future ~ NCV

This was a promise God made to the Israelites after they were carried off to Babylon and they had their false prophesies and hopes dashed by finding out they were going to be there for 70 years. Settle in and make a good life where you are. Bloom where you are planted. “I know the plans I have for you,” says God. Don’t believe the soothing lies you want to hear.

As they needed to do, so do I. I have to deal with life as it is in the here and now, not pine for what was lost or waste today’s opportunities on false maybes of the future. Doing what needs to be done today carries me into what God has planned for the future.

Romans 12:2 Do not be shaped by this world; instead be changed within by a new way of thinking. Then you will be able to decide what God wants for you; you will know what is good and pleasing to him and what is perfect. ~ NCV

“Do not be shaped by this world.” I have already been shaped by it – my habits of thought and behavior have already been molded by my experiences and relationships.

Yet, I can see some of the ways I am being changed from within by God’s love.

Abba,
My thoughts are not yet Your thoughts. Bring my mind into alignment with Yours. Heal my emotions to allow me to think and act according to Your mind and Your will, fulfilling Your purpose. Help me remember to live today, letting go of that which is past and releasing expectations of the future.

Yesterday, Dr. Wayne W. Dyer asked, “How are you going to use your present moments this year?”

6 comments

    1. Eula,
      Thank you for visiting and commenting. There is a saying that recovery is a process, not an event. I think that is true of our spiritual walk and our healing processes as well. After all, a relationship with Jesus is also a process that may have begun with an event.

      I know my healing is, even as it’s in process.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

    1. Kesi,
      Thanks for stopping by. Now that I know you’ll be visiting I feel more accountable to follow up with this aspect of my writing. Feel free to email me or pm me on Facebook with a reminder or thought. I miss discussing these things with others. Fair warning though, I tend to be more heretical and skeptical than what many think a Christian is or should be.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

  1. “I have to deal with life as it is in the here and now, not pine for what was lost or waste today’s opportunities on false maybes of the future.” What a profound statement. Wonder how much of our time is actually lost being absent from our current moment.

    Like

    1. Wanda,
      Thanks for visiting and commenting.

      I know that I have a huge tendency to dissociate, isolate, and disconnect, so I’m sure a significant amount of my life has been spent not being present.

      Happy New Year,
      Kina

      Like

Your feedback, thoughts, and input are appreciated.

