Vanellope Von Schweetz: Perseverance and Self-Certainty

“Everyone here says I’m just a mistake and that I wasn’t even suppose to exist.”…”I’m already a real racer….and I’m gonna win!” ~ Vanellope Von Schweetz, aka The Glitch

*Spoiler Alert*

A couple of days ago I wrote about Wreck It Ralph and how much I identified with his character.

Then I started thinking about the abrasive and annoying character, voiced by Sarah Silverman, Vanellope Von Schweetz. At least I found the character abrasive and annoying . . . at first. As I thought more and more about her character, I realized that I could learn some pretty significant lessons from her.

Throughout the movie, Vanellope is absolutely certain that the core of her programming, the character she was meant to be is a racer. Not just a racer, but a winner. She never wavers in that understanding and belief about who she is. She does not allow the doubts and uncertainties of others to sway her views of herself or deter her from pursuing the path she knows is hers. In the face of abuse, rejection, and marginalization she never questions who she knows herself to be, regardless of the fact she has no evidence for her belief and that everyone in her world only defines her by her dysfunction – the Glitch.

There is no backstory explaining if her loud and playfully insulting personality was that way from her beginnings. It could well be that it was the development of her defense mechanisms after being shunned and ridiculed for so long.

The backstory we do learn is that of the character from a different game who invaded Vanellope’s game and took over. He managed to reprogram the game and usurp Vanellope’s role, disconnecting her and turning her into the Glitch, while locking away the true memories of all the game characters.

She doesn’t spend her time or energy trying to convince anyone to change their views and opinions of who she is. She stays focused on getting herself into position and doing the things needed in order to bring her life into alignment with who and what she knows herself to be.

It is interesting to note that her dysfunction, her glitchiness, was such an integral and accepted part of her altered identity, that she learned to embrace it and use it to her advantage.

The evolution of Vanellope’s character is ultimately an integration and amalgamation of who she was meant to be in conjunction with who she had to be in order to achieve her purpose and embracing the effects of the things which were caused by the decisions and actions of others.

The realizations I have from this is that I have spent the majority of my life fighting against who I thought others believed me to be or trying to be what others expected me to be. I have not ever identified who I am.

I have defined myself according to the circumstances and effects of choices made in my life, whether they were mine or others’. I need to figure out how to use my own glitches in constructive ways.

In what ways does who I am integrate with who I am meant to be? If all the external obstacles, expectations, and doubts were removed, who would I be and what would I be doing? Who would you be? What are the things we are limiting ourselves by that we can embrace and use to move forward?

2 comments

Your feedback, thoughts, and input are appreciated.

