Flatlined

I’m drained, wrung out, and spent. Stick a fork in me because I’m done.

Enough clichés.

It’s part of my cycle. It’s also quite natural after all the events of the last couple of weeks – nationally, locally, and personally.

My life, and many, many others’ it seems, have exemplified the cliché, “When it rains, it pours.”

I kind of wish December 21st really would be the end of everything. At least everyone could just stop and take a break. Alas, it is highly probable that none of our problems will be settled and resolved as easily as a big, cosmic wiping of the board and starting fresh. If only.

Perhaps I’ll feel something tomorrow, maybe even look for the Christmas Spirit I’ve ignored and turned away. Maybe I’ll try to take a nap.

24 comments

  1. I’m going to be the hated optimist today. On days like this, you just have to find ways to bring joy back in your life, like splurging for chocolate, having a friend over for tea, or taking a long walk in the forest. So many simple joys exist that may no solve the world’s problems, but might keep us from flatlining.

    Like

    1. Nikole,
      I appreciate your feedback and suggestions. They are positive and constructive.

      As I have indicated elsewhere this is part of my cycle in dealing with untreated fibromyalgia, untreated depression and part of what happens after an extended period of dealing with significant emotional trauma issues. I have learned to acknowledge it and to accept it for what it is instead of flailing and fighting it, which only ever makes it longer and stronger. I am learning the difference between acceptance and wallowing, which is what I used to do.

      After I wrote this, I was indeed able to mov forward and make some more constructive choices and have a decent day.

      Thank you so much for stopping by, reading, and commenting. I hope to see you again.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

  2. I know these feelings all too well and the only thing that seems to work is time; only in time will the pain change from the back to the muscls in the legs to maybe one tender finger. Sometimes it’s on and on but in time it will change or maybe offer a brief reprieve. I’ve just started a FIbromyalgia blog and I do hope you willl enjoy it as I have yours.

    Like

    1. ADL,
      Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting.

      As I said, it’s part of my depression cycle and I’m already starting to move onto the next phase. The mood shifts aren’t drastic enough to have a bipolar diagnosis, but I’m starting to wonder.

      Anyway, welcome to WordPress and blogging. There are a LOT of wonderful people here and your community will grow. I’ve just been doing this a year and there have been significant changes and internal growth for me. So pleased to have you here.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

  3. Sadly, they’ve already found a calendar in Guatemala that goes on for a lot longer than the other one. I think we’re stuck with the world for a while. If it makes you feel any better, Friday is supposed to be the beginning of a new era. Maybe it’ll be better for all of us.

    Like

    1. Mary,
      Thank you. This down mood and affiliated physical inertia go with the fibro/depression territory. I am finding if I acknowledge it and let it be what it is, instead of railing and berating myself for it, I can move through it quicker and more easily.

      I didn’t know about the Guatemalan calendar, though, I am not surprised. There is definitely a shifting and turning in the world and I do believe we are heading into a different era. I know I am on a personal level.

      As always, I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment.

      Be well,
      Kina

      Like

  4. I know this feeling all too well. I just pushed my way through it at the beginning of the month. I hope you get some rest and feel more like yourself soon!

    Like

  5. I’m drained, wrung out, and spent. Stick a fork in me because I’m done.

    Please forgive me, but my quirky sense of humor demands it.

    *sticks fork*

    YOUR: “ouch!”

    ME: “Ah, done.” 😉

    Like

Your feedback, thoughts, and input are appreciated.

