Blogger interrupted

Day 4 of the Ultimate Blog Challenge and I find myself struggling…

“What are you struggling with, Kina?,” you may ask.

“Have you run out of topic ideas, inspiration, or life situations to write about?”

“Oh, no, absolutely not!,” I declare, sighing heavily.

“What is the problem then?”

The problem is too much inspiration, an overflow ideas, and too many situations arising all at once!

I have a post that I began preparing yesterday for today’s submission, but due to all the rest of it, never finished it.  I finally had to close the laptop at 3 a.m. and get some sleep.  When I woke up two and a half hours later, I had every intention and planned to finish it before anything else, but you know what they say about good intentions, the road to hell and the best laid plans.

The primary thing that has redirected my attention and focus is a establishing a community within the WANATribe social network for those of us who express ourselves artistically, creatively, and inspirationally through blogging and not necessarily in an effort to market ourselves, our brand, our art, our products, or our business opportunities.  A place where those of us who secretly or not so secretly, aspire to bring insight, beauty, and thoughtfulness into the world in intentional ways can build community and share the joys, frustrations, triumphs, and downfalls of our blogging experiences, but don’t wish to wind up in a competitive game of one-upsmanship and self-promotion.

I started a Bloggers Unite! “tribe” at the WANATribe network three days ago. I had no thought or desire to be an expert blogger or a leader of the blogging movement. I simply wanted a place where I could genuinely meet and connect with people who have a passion for blogging.  A place where those who “just” blog as self-expression and primarily blog surf for their reading pleasure can feel welcome, accepted, and supported.  I did this because I haven’t found a place where that exists, yet.

In the search for community and connectedness I joined the Ultimate Blog Challenge on Facebook and have connected with and discovered some wonderful bloggers.  However, there is such an  extreme number of people participating in the challenge that I’m barely sampling and tasting what’s being offered.  I feel like I’m in the midst of a tapas smorgasbord (to mix cultural references to food), in a speed-dating forum.  There’s not enough opportunity to truly connect and savor what’s being offered.

Additionally, there are a very large number of participants who are about selling me something and I don’t have the money to buy.  Unlike many people, I do not enjoy window shopping.  If I see it and I want it and can’t afford it then certain negative qualities and symptoms get triggered.  I also am not a fan of the bait and switch or the let me hook you with a sample marketing techniques that seem to be inherent to blogs that are about selling me something.  Self-serving promotion has it’s place, it’s audience, and it’s forums…and I don’t fit in there. (Disclaimer ~ none of the blogs that I’ve actually had the pleasure of visiting through the UBC have exhibited these negative qualities.  Primarily because I have developed a bit of an instinctive radar for such things and have skimmed and avoided the ones that triggered my “bloggy sense.”)

So, here it is the 4th of July, my daughter is at home and I have some other important distractions, which I have notes on to blog about later, and I must go. I find myself without having completed the post I intended because of all the time and attention I have invested into Bloggers Unite! at WANATribe.  At the risk of pulling a bait and switch and shamelessly self-promoting, won’t you visit and join me on the journey to creating a true community for those of us who blog?

Blessings,

Kina

10 comments

  1. Your words really resonated with me today. I, too, am quite frustrated that I’m only able to sample just a few of the bloggers here, due to time constraints and other responsibilities. And, also, if I see something, want it, and can’t afford it, I become cranky and irritable. And then I can’t work on my own stuff. But I love the WANA premise. All the best. Keep going. And just do what you can.

    Like

    1. Susan,
      Thank you for letting me know it’s not just me, lol. I feel validated. I’m starting to feel anxious because I haven’t been able to slow down from real life since I posted yesterday and I may not get my post in for today, lol. However, I need to remember that while my writing and being able to read and connect to other bloggers such as yourself is important for me, so is fully engaging in the tangible, here and now. Glad you like the WANA concept, maybe we’ll see each other there.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

  2. I have the problem of too much life, not enough time to write about it too….it’s a good problem, I suppose 😉 One thing I’ve found is that I need to exercise portion control in all aspects of my life, and that includes reading other blogs. My first priority is to get my work out there, and to keep up with bloggers that I care about. that’s just me though…

    Like

    1. Patrice,
      Portion control and balance are goals I have. However, as with many things in life, there are times when my cup overfloweth and no matter how I try to control the portions I have to manage, I’m unable to hold all the courses fully on my plate.

      For me, reading the blogs of others informs, inspires, and offers insights and perspectives which cause me to rethink and re-evaluate my thoughts and messages. It is meditative to a large degree and is an inherent part of me having work to put out there. Therefore, keeping up with bloggers I care about is not just important for the growth and development of the relationships I am building with some of them, it is an imperative for me to seek and explore, as part of my learning and creative process. Since I had shut down on the creative aspects of myself for so long due to mental and physical health issues and family situations, now that I have begun reconnecting to that side of me again, means that the creative sparks are flying and having to rein them in just as they’ve been rediscovered is kind of like trying to corral wild horses and I just have to figure out how to deal with the internal/emotional fallout.

      Thanks so much for reminding me of portion and balance.
      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

  3. Your WANATribe idea sounds terrific and the premise is a good one. I’m going to check it out. Your feeelings about the Challenge sound the same as what I experianced through during the A-Z April Blog Challenge, the sheer volume of participants was overwhelming and the idea was to visit each one during the Challenge. Do what you can and have fun. That, in the main is what personal blogging is about.

    Like

    1. Thank you for taking the time to comment. Looking forward to having you in WANA. It’s good to know I’m not the only one with that experience. I am having loads of fun. The frustration is because life keeps interrupting my creative flow, lol.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

  4. So even if you are “only” a blogger you are building a brand. That brand is you. You may not have anything to sell. But you are still branding yourself. Okay that said let’s move on to the meat of your post.

    When I get ideas now I start new posts and put all the info in them and leave them as draft posts. That way everything is where I need it whenever I want to work on it. I was using a word doc but over time it just got too big to deal with. Time management is one of the hardest things in social media. Staying focused and on track takes practice. Jot a few notes down and get back to the topic you are working on or decide to set that topic aside and do something else. It is so hard but very important if you are not going to be taken over by your blog.

    I look forward to getting to know you better. Here and on WANATribe.

    Like

    1. Tasha,
      Thank you so much for visiting and the feedback. My biggest problem right now is that I have a lot of unstructured time and am in the midst of a series of ongoing fibroflares that cause me to need to “rest” for long periods, which I tend to do with the laptop. So, I get a bit ADD and have a gazillion tabs opren at a time and have difficulty concentrating and staying focused. I have a parked draft plus a new word doc with some link references and potential titles or topics. I’m also getting distracted from the writing by the community aspect. Chatting with the new people I’m meeting, hearing about their ideas, experiences, and challenges is just too tempting, at times.

      Glad you are in WANA and joined the Bloggers Unite! tribe, I’m totally stoked!

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

  5. David,
    I greatly appreciate you stopping by and taking the time to comment. I love blogging: the writing, the reading, the being read and the dynamics of connecting through comments. But it is quite time consuming and, depending on the topic and other concerns, it can be a real energy drain as well. So, when someone who has a professional practice and uses his blog to help the average person understand and learn about mental health issues from a provider perspective as opposed from the consumer perspective, I value your time, energy, effort and contribution. It is you who deserves thanks for all that you do, not in an effort to gain something from us, but because it’s your calling and you are answering the call!

    Regarding the “parking lot” for ideas, I started a word doc on my desktop with the date, a working title or subject, and the internet links for reference. It’s a bit insane, but that was the only way I could think of to not let inspiration slide away.
    Blessings, Kina

    Like

  6. Thanks for all your hard work. Like you I find too many ideas and not enough time to finish the things I start. I keep a file folder on my computer with started but unfinished posts. Most of them are headlines or first sentences only. Days like today when I am home from work those post get worked on. Wish I had more time to read blogs like yours; I catch them as much as I can. Keep the thoughts and great ideas coming!

    Like

Your feedback, thoughts, and input are appreciated.

