Note to self, a parenting reminder

No soda before bedtime…EVER!…in ANY amount.

I know, that should be a no brainer.  Sadly, my brain took a fibro-vacation yesterday and I made the huge mistake of relying on Pizza Hut to supply the evening meal, because I could barely move from the pain, soreness and fatigue from all the cleaning and walking I did earlier in the day.  I don’t really know why I opted to include a 2 liter of caffeinated soda when we have plenty of water, even so far as paying almost double the store cost of the darn thing.  Sadly, I even thought those things as I was clicking to include it in the order. Why do I do these things?

Well, I gave the 3 year old probably about 6 oz of it with her portion of dinner.  I didn’t let her have more when she pleaded for more.  Two hours later it was bedtime and I was REALLY ready for sleep.  She snuggled up next to me and for the next hour kept up a constant flow of chatter and requests.  I heard about spider nets, we counted, sang the Itsy Bitsy Spider song multiple times, as well as Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star, the Alphabet Song, my extended version of Hush Little Baby, and the ever popular Jesus Loves Me.

Throughout the process, she would periodically request her water bottle.  We both tend to get dry mouthed and thirsty at night for some reason, and it has become my practice to make sure I have a water bottle on the bedside table.  At one point, I was so drained and over it that my hand dropped it onto the bed, thinking the spout was closed.  About 15-20 minutes later, I felt a cold, wet sensation on my leg and had to take the comforter into the living room and spread it out to dry and rummage in the closet for a different blanket.

The cute and frustrating thing was that after requesting her to use a soft voice, to whisper, and to be quiet and go to sleep, repeatedly, she started saying those things back to me in her cute, high voice.  Truthfully, it wasn’t cute in that  moment.  Finally, she ran out of steam and just went still and quiet.

As annoying and frustrating as it was in that moment, I am proud that I was patient, consistent, and loving with her and that she feels safe and connected enough to want to share all her thoughts, fears, and feelings with me.  This isn’t something I was able to do well with my adult children when they were growing up.  I’ve had such a difficult time parenting them and in working through all the issues we’ve had, that I cherish this relationship I’m growing with the little one.  I actually believe that parenting her and being able to do attachment parenting with her, has contributed to the growth and gains in my relationships with her adult siblings.  

2 comments

Your feedback, thoughts, and input are appreciated.

