“Too stupid to understand science? TRY RELIGION!”

I can certainly grasp why there are many people who have been turned off of Christianity specifically and religion in general because of the vociferous actions, religious abuse and bullying of many self-proclaimed Christians, who may or may not be TRUE BELIEVERS.  I once saw a bumper sticker that summed up the dilemma perfectly, “Jesus, save me from your followers.”

I identify myself as a Christian, but prefer to find alternate ways of explaining my faith.  I cringe and want to disassociate from those who claim the name while displaying bigoted and intolerant views toward people who don’t believe in the same doctrine or have the same understanding of what it means to be Christian as they.  It is not my job to point out the defects, faults, and limitations of others, according to my understanding of God.  I have plenty of my own issues I’m still working through and discovering.  Before I can attempt to remove the speck from another, I have planks of my own to deal with.

That being said, I make it a general practice to avoid arguing with someone who actively disagrees and/or despises my faith.  I have enough stress and drama in my life and, since I am continuing to work and grow in my own faith and understanding of God, it isn’t a constructive use of my time or energy.  It also tends to be counterproductive in reflecting God’s love in the world.  Unfortunately, occasionally, I will get sucked into it.  Today was one of those days.

A distant relative of my father’s (who I’ve never actually met and didn’t know existed until 2010) and I are “friends” on facebook.  Since most of his posts are in a language I have very limited experience in, I tend to let them float on by in the news stream.  Today, though, he posted a picture with the statement at the top of this page, “Too stupid to understand science? TRY RELIGION!”

BOOM! . . . I went there.  Here’s what followed:

  • ME:   I think that there are people of reason and logic who also hold a personal faith and belief system many would consider religious. Therefore, just as it is unconscionable for those who ascribe to a specific belief system to denigrate and discount those who don’t share in those beliefs, the same is true for people who believe differently from me to insinuate and judge my intellectual capacity because I hold to a personal faith
  • Him:  interesting, so… do u belive in evolution or creation? choose one 😉
  •  ME: I don’t believe they are mutually exclusive. Original creation has evolved, devolved, and transitioned over the years. My personal belief is that after we all end our time on this earth, everyone will discover how true, false, right and wrong our beliefs have been and that no one individual, group, organization, church, religion, or belief system is infallible or big enough to encompass Truth.
  •  Him: I can give u the true right now if u want so u can stop wasting ur time, money and life in church o any other building and start livin’ ur life without fear now not when u end ur time in earth, here we go: there is not cosmic jewish zombie who can make u live forever if u symbollicaly eat his flesh and drink his blood and telephatically tell him that u accept him as ur master so he can remove the evil force from ur soul that is present in you cuz a rib woman was convinced by a talking snake to eat from a magical tree, u r welkome 😉
  • ME:  Well, if that was what I believed in and what I was doing, I might gratefully accept your edification and illumination on the fallacy of those beliefs. I appreciate your concern and caring efforts to offer me your understanding of truth.

 That was it.  He “liked” my comments and that’s all there was to it.

I think it bothers me that there are many educated, rational, and generally tolerant people who turn into irrational, intolerant bigots themselves when confronted with the question of religion, faith, and spirituality.  They are offended, angry, and disgusted by the so-called faithful who spread messages of hate and intolerance, yet they have no qualms about spreading such messages themselves in response.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to waste a lot of energy and time going down this particular rabbit hole, it was just something for me to think on for a little while.  On a side note: The snarky part of me really wanted to point out the lack of intelligence suggested by the complete disregard of spelling, punctuation or grammar and to suggest that if one is going to insult the intellectual capabilities of a group of people, then one should avoid doing so in such an illiterate manner.

14 comments

    1. Thank you. I had to go back and re-read what I had written. I appreciate that you went back in my archives, lol. I was definitely having a snarky internal dialogue that day.

      Be well,
      Kina

      Like

  1. You write very well, and make your point eloquently and sensitivity. There are people in every group, culture, race that can be used as examples to promote intolerance and hate. I doubt that kind of unthinking will ever end. I think you handled that guy well, though. If he used the same logic behind his argument that all Christianity is bad, then he could be a fine example of how all non-Christians are illiterate.
    I’m wishing you well on your journey.

    Like

  2. This is a super interesting subject. Thanks for bringing it up… HiR. I’m a non religious human being. Also I want to thank you for stopping by my blog and throwing so many biscuits in my tin today. Quiet overwhelming. I will go to bed with a full stomach tonight :o) Thanks and have a great weekend.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome, on all counts. For me the subject isn’t if one is religious or non-religious, but how we treat those whose viewpoints differ from our own. There are a lot of “religious” people who present themselves and their beliefs in destructive, demeaning, and ugly ways. I understand that tends to drive the way “non-religious” folk perceive those of us who publicly claim faith and spiritual beliefs. What bothers me is that people who deem themselves to be rational and logical because they are “non-religious” can have a tendency to be bigoted and prejudiced and act in ways toward the “religious” that they wouldn’t tolerate in others, just because the assumption is that you can’t be a thinking and rational human being while having a personal faith in God.

      It’s just as vile and incomprehensible to me as racism, sexism, and homophobia.

      Like

      1. Being religious or not, is the subject. If it wasn’t, you wouldn’t have written this article, because there wouldn’t be a reason too. Religion was the engine and prejudgement was the fuel.
        Anyhow, it was stupid and in fact really prejudgement’ish of me to mention that I am a non-religious person. I fell into the trap of assuming my religious viewpoint is of relevance to other people. It is not. Sorry about that. It wont happen again. Have a lovely Sunday :o)

        Like

        1. Your viewpoint is relevant. I can certainly understand your interpretation. That’s one of the things about writing, language, and communication – it’s fluid and open to interpretation. I don’t believe there was anything stupid or judgemental about your initial comment.

          Like

  3. the thing that truly matters in this world is our daily walk of truth; truth of self, truth of belief, truth of conviction, etc. If we strive to be true in all things, what more could God ask of us? We have to start somewhere and grow from there, right? blessings, Terri

    Like

  4. I have several friends who feel the same way about religion and God/gods in general. One of my nephews identifies himself with atheism and gently makes fun of my dedication. We’ve had our discussions, of course, and I won’t shy from them ever, but the most effective argument for Jesus’ teachings (if not for Jesus Himself) is how they change my life and attitude.

    There are always good arguments for these bigots of religion, but as Ben Franklin postulated years ago “convince a man against his will, he’s of the same opinion still”. Paul, much earlier, said, “Have nothing to do with foolish arguments about words which benefit no one.” (I think that’ sin 2 Timothy 3)

    Good thoughts, girl

    Like

    1. Thanks for your feedback and encouragement. 🙂

      While I believe that Jesus in one’s life is beneficial and would like to see others experience His love, I don’t necessarily want to convince anyone of anything. I just make an introduction.

      What I’d really like is to have others respond to me in constructive and respectful ways and as an extension to treat other people the same way. I know, it’s an ideal and not in my control. However, my little diatribe here wasn’t necessarily due to the fact that I was dealing with someone who had a differing opinion and more about how that opinion was expressed.

      Ah well, that’s what this space is for – so I can get the things that are not within my ability to control or change out of my head and thoughts.

      Like

Your feedback, thoughts, and input are appreciated.

