Moving into stillness and acting on acceptance

On Thursday I was shown the Verse of the Day at Bible Gateway, http://www.biblegateway.com/

Romans 15:13 (New International Version, ©2011)

13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

My response: “Lord help me trust in you that I may be filled with your joy and peace in overflowing hope by the power of your Holy Spirit, because I’m certainly not feeling those things now.”

Over the course of the next few hours and throughout the day yesterday, I kept thinking about that verse and prayed, talked, messaged, posted, and chatted with people about it and what I’ve been going through with my family relationships.  I went from being overwhelmed with tears and a sense of frantic anxiety, mixed with depression, anger, and hurt and began to experience a sense of calmness, peace, and even a glimmering of hope.  The transition from frantic and grasping thoughts and conversations filled with chaotic energy and self-pity and self-righteousness seeking validation and confirmation to quiet consideration, listening and acceptance was amazing.  I was able to receive prayer, encouragement, and considered advice without staying stuck in defensiveness, victimization, or a need to convince myself or anyone else of my rightness.  Through this I’ve been able to begin the process of relationship restoration with my oldest daughter and continue that same process with the father of my youngest daughter.

For the first time in a long time and since the events of Thursday and all of the emotional melodrama inside of my own head and heart, I woke up this morning with the beginnings of a sense of renewed purpose and motivation and feel more open hearted and more open minded.  I can only thank God for the power of prayer and the fact that He has provided me with many people who are praying for me and my family.

Today’s

Verse of the day

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” – Galatians 5:22-23

My response: Lord, fill me with your Spirit that the fruit may manifest in my life and the lives of those I touch today.

4 comments

  1. I have found in my struggles of life that by reading the Bible, especially the Psalms, they have guided me, comforted me, assured me and at last truly sense the love of God for me. Praying the Psalms is therapy also. Big time. Blessings, dear one.

    Like

Your feedback, thoughts, and input are appreciated.

