Finding Family

So, for a variety of reasons, which shall remain unnamed for now, I decided to do an online search for my father on Wednesday, March 17, 2010. I had attempted this search for him previously in 2003 without any success.

I started off by doing a Google search on his name and found a previous posting I submitted in 2003 on Ancestry.com. So, I signed up for their 14-Day Free Trial and updated my search. I found records of the marriage & divorce of my parents which led me to other records that may have related to my father. I identified a few cities that he may have been in over the years and used those to do a Whitepages.com search and found a potential match.

I called and left a message on the anonymous answering machine twice that day and sent off a snail mail note.

He called me the next day!

Since then, I’ve spoken to my sister. Because of her, I finally decided to open a Facebook account and now I’ve been connected to a lot of family I never knew I had, the majority of which reside in Mexico.

Apparently, my father was one of 15 children born to his mother – 9 boys & 6 girls. I have 4 uncles and 6 Aunts, 1 grandmother, 1 sister, 1 brother, a sister-in-law, and two nieces, and a whole bunch of cousins.

This has been very exciting and I’m sure the next few days, weeks, and months will be very full as we get to know each other.

5 comments

    1. Yeah, this was a fairly significant event in my journey. It’s difficult to realize it’s been almost three years since I found that part of my family. Not a lot has changed even though finding them kind of changed everything. They all mostly live in Southern California and Mexico.

      I never really got into the whole genealogy thing. However, I did enjoy watching Who Do You Think You Are?

      Like

    1. James,
      Thank you. I actually just transferred that over from my Facebook Notes. This happened back in March 2010. I backdated the publication date. I didn’t realize it would go out to you guys that fast.

      It has been an interesting journey and I refer to it a little bit in the post I’m currently working on.

      Blessings,
      Kina

      Like

Your feedback, thoughts, and input are appreciated.

